The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

do you need to fill your suitcase?

This is Carol Tinsley.  She is the Training Coordinator for Persons Banking Company.

From phone 4-29-10 013

After sitting through my business etiquette training class 5 times, I guess she couldn’t help but learn something.  For example, I tend to lose my balance when I wear heels.  It’s kinda like watching the Leaning Tower of Pisa since I’m 5’11’.  Not good, I know.  I’m working on it.

And, she learned what to do if you are in the middle of an introduction and blank out on a person’s name.  In one class, she introduced me as Kate Moss.  Offended, I was not.  Made me laugh, though, since sporting heels is surely no problem for the other Kate. 

Bet the other Kate can’t run up stairs as quickly as I can wearing bedroom shoes and carrying a cup of coffee.

Here’s the other thing Carol learned.  She wasn’t putting the professional image out there she thought she was.  She had so much stuff in her office that did not speak to her job tasks, it was killing her image.  She had pictures and keepsakes that were special to her but did nothing to improve productivity.  See that shiny desktop in the picture above?  It was not visible day one.  But, after hauling out a suitcase full of distractions, she is back to being a training and organizing extraordinaire. 

Take a look at this.

From phone 4-29-10 014

This, too, looked a little different before Carol became cleansed.  Notice how she left a few things that are simply decorative.  Moderation is good and a few things are ok.  They can serve as conversation pieces and enable co-workers to get to know Carol and her interests. 

I really wish I had a picture of her rolling that suitcase down the hall, don’t you?

Thanks, Carol, for letting me share these pictures of your office.  More importantly, thank you for sharing your wisdom and time with me over the last couple of weeks.  Looking forward to our Training Trek Across Georgia!

Leave a Reply

