The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

Housewives of NYC

I’m not really sure where to begin with this Real Housewives stuff.  Watching this show is sort of a guilty pleasure.  Half of the episode is spent with my mouth hanging open and the other half is spent with my eyes covered.  I get so embarrassed for them!  It is so painful to watch, but I wouldn’t dare turn the channel.

So, last night I happened to catch an episode of The Real Housewives of NYC.  First of all, I don’t now how “real” those ladies chics are.  Looked like a lot of silicone and Botox to me.  But, what I really want to talk about is this…they act and sound like children!  All that yelling and finger pointing and clothes that don’t fit…it’s terrible…yet addictive. 

At one point, Ramona invited Jill to go with her and a few other friends to the Virgin Islands to celebrate her upcoming vow renewal ceremony.  Yeah, I was soaking in the details.  So, Jill, in response to the invitation, said with wide eyes, “Well, who else are you thinking of inviting because there are a few people I’m not really getting along with right now?” or something like that.  WHAT?  Are you kidding me?  Someone offers to take you away to a beautiful island for 3-4 days, and the first thing you think is, “Hmmm, let me see if I like your other friends because if I don’t, I’m not going.”  How about a “Thank You’”??  I told you…just like a kid.

Later in the show, I think it was Sonja who hosted a cocktail party for about 10 people.  It was a small crowd.  Jill had been there only a few minutes when she started a yelling match with Ramona.  Yep, Ramona was the one that invited her on the trip.  Then, Alex arrived and promptly started yelling at Jill (but by then, I wanted to yell at Jill, too).  Here’s the other thing about this show being “real”.  I can honestly say, I have never been to a cocktail party where people were yelling at each other and someone ended up hiding in the pantry crying. 

Forgive me for stating the obvious, but when someone has invited you into their home, you should not throw a temper tantrum.  Sonja went to a lot of trouble and expense for these fools and that’s the thanks she gets.  Although, one of the Housewives  who was right in the middle of all this has recently published a book on manners (true!), so I’m sure she sent Sonja a thank you note afterward.  Whew.  I feel better.

2 responses to “Housewives of NYC

  1. Everyday Kathy May 12, 2010 at 5:45 am

    You totally crack me up! I never would have guessed you would watch this show. Good on you for telling them what is right! Although if they took your advice that show probably wouldn’t get very big ratings! LOL

    Anyway, got your “Polite Company ” piece in my in box today. It is very lovely… I dream of having such style in my communications! Thanks for the inspiration!

    I really need to stop by more often!

    Kathy over at Everyday Bliss

  2. Kate May 12, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Kathy,
    Oh, I’m sure I do lots of things that are not very etiquette-y. We can’t take ourselves THAT seriously, now can we? Thanks for your nice remarks and I’m glad you enjoyed the newsletter. Please do drop by often!

    Take care,
    Kate

Leave a Reply

