The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

Tift Regional Medical Center

My mother has been in the hospital for the last few days, so I have been up close and personal with good and bad customer service.  Here is a list of ‘small touches’ I have seen that have left a huge impact on my family. I am certain we are not the only customers to notice.

  • The nurses do what they say they will do.  When the nurses say they will be back in a few minutes, they come back in a few minutes.  Because they proved to be reliable, we didn’t head to the nurses station every few minutes.  That level of attentiveness is a win-win.  They do what they say for us and we stay out of their hair.
  • Every time a baby is born, a lullaby is played over the intercom system so everyone can hear.  For just a few seconds, it makes everyone smile and say, “Awwww”.  This is an example of a “feel-good touch” that I encourage my clients to incorporate in their business.  There is no direct line monetary value, but it works to build reputations and relationships.  It’s that extra oomph that says to anyone nearby that the business is human and has emotion.  And, yes, my sister and I made a B-line to the nursery to check out the new arrival.
  • The hospital staff pays attention and acts on what they see.  When a nurse noticed me balled up in the chair because I was cold, she brought me a blanket.  When another nurse realized I was spending the night, she made sure I knew how to fold the chair into a bed.  It is so easy to be focused on whatever task is in front of you that all else falls by the wayside.  This staff does not let that happen.
  • If I found myself in the elevator with someone employed by the hospital, they always let me exit first.  I didn’t notice this until about the third day.  Then, it occurred to me how often I saw them extend these small courtesies.
  • The entire staff at this hospital seems to be acquainted.  Most often, if one employee passes another in the hall or in the cafeteria, they speak.  And, they speak to each other nicely!  No grunts and no head jerks replacing a verbal ‘hello’.  I was working on my laptop in the cafeteria one morning and noticed a stream of employees making their way into a meeting room.  I was amazed at how friendly, open and comfortable they were with each other.  This cohesion makes for a happy hospital.

If you find yourself in need of medical services, I highly recommend Tift Regional Medical Center in Tifton, Georgia. www.tiftregional.com 

Unfortunately for me, it doesn’t appear they need any corporate etiquette training.

4 responses to “Tift Regional Medical Center

  1. Ellen Eaton June 21, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Thanks so much for your kind comments regarding our employees at Tift Regional Medical Center. We are indeed proud of the manner in which our staff members care for those who have been entrusted to us for their health care needs. We strive through the employment process to hire kind, caring and compassionate individuals. It is always good and reassuring that we have somewhat met with success. I hope that this finds your Mother doing well. Thank you for allowing us to assist you and your family in taking care of her.

    Ellen Eaton, Human Resources Director

  2. katetlewis June 21, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Ellen,

    Just blogging like I see it! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

    Kate

  3. William T. Richardson June 23, 2010 at 8:33 am

    A great feeling of pride encompassed me as i read your comments on TRMC staff. They are the best with whom i’ve ever been associated. They are in the healthcare profession for all the right reasons. Thanks, Bill Richardson.

    • katetlewis June 23, 2010 at 9:37 am

      Bill,

      Since this post, a family member has had a teeny little baby at TRMC that had to be moved to Macon. Again, everyone at the hospital was warm, caring and concerned about the little one as much as we were. All are well now and we are grateful for yet another nice experience.

      Thank you for reading!
      Kate

Leave a Reply

