The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

Boulder Style

After spending some time with my dear old friend, Britt, and hearing about what life is like in Boulder, Colorado, I decided I would have a little taste of that right here in Georgia. She told me about how everyone in Boulder rides their bicycles almost anywhere they need to go and since I needed to go to the post office and the butcher shop, I hopped on that bicycle and took off. Well, I had to pump up the tires first.  I swear, it’s always something around here.

I thought I would share some things with you that Britt did not share with me about errands on a bicycle.

  1. You need a basket. I put my phone in my pocket since I was afraid to leave home without it. What if I crashed? Who would know? So, when it rang and I reached for it, my balance got a little off.  Thank heavens  no one was behind me to see what happened.  I can imagine it’s this need that spurred someone to invent the fanny pack, but I think I’ll just get a basket.
  2. You need to know the hand signals. I’m going to have to drop Mrs. Cheryl a note. I did not see her coming and she most certainly did not see me coming.
  3. You have a head wind going and coming.
  4. The sound of a car approaching from behind sounds like a freight train. For years, Mrs. Idelle has peddled on the Valdosta Highway without batting an eye, but I nearly came unglued on Pineneedle.
  5. In Georgia, people stare at a lady riding a bicycle that’s a touch too small carrying a pack of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. That’s ok.  You just smile and know you are one carbon footprint ahead of them.

I think things will go a little smoother when it cools off.

3 responses to “Boulder Style

  1. Marti Tolleson August 12, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Oh my!! I am laughing sooooo hard! Girl you should be a comedian, not an etiquette consultant!

  2. Loucy Hay August 12, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    That is the funniest thing I have ever read!!! And all in the name of some boneless chicken.

Leave a Reply

