The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

random acts of culture

My rural and southern upbringing and love of a good pun won’t let me go through this post without acknowledging that this concept of ‘random acts  of culture’ could mean a few different things. 

I’ll just let you work on that one a while and get to the intended message. Just know that I am completely cracking up on the inside.

The Knight Foundation creates these random acts of culture in order to “bring the classics out of the performance halls and onto the streets”. Take a look at these videos. These are just two of their acts in action. It will make your hair stand up. No joke.  It will give you goose bumps.

This first clip was taken from a random act performed just a few weeks ago in Philadelphia at Macy’s … where the largest pipe organ in the world lives.

This next clip is from a train station in Antwerp. That’s in Belguim. I checked. After I saw this one, I literally clapped and yelled at the monitor I loved it so much.

Tell everyone you know about this. And, don’t be surprised if I break out in song in my next post.

2 responses to “random acts of culture

  1. Jay Remer November 28, 2010 at 6:23 am

    These are both so uplifting. They could make a grown man cry!

  2. Kate November 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Jay! Don’t read anything here and CRY! For Pete’s sake, don’t do THAT!

    🙂

    Kate

Leave a Reply

