The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

a reader and my parents. no joke.

A reader, who shall remain nameless since I haven’t asked for her permission to use this in today’s post, sent this to me last night. Said reader is welcomed and encouraged to identify herself, however.

The subject of the email was True Story…I Promise!  Here it is:

So I’m headed home from work yesterday during Valdosta’s "rush hour" (tee hee!) when I happen upon a multi-car accident (not caused by me) at 5 Points. I look in my rearview to discover some space to scoot into the other lane. After easing over, I realized that I forgot to give the "thanks for holding back and letting me in" wave of the hand….and I thought of you. What would Kate say?! As I’m trying to decide to wave or not to wave….is it too late?…did I pass the "wave" time period?..I look in my rearview and discover (wait for it….) Sue and Guy Tittle in the car behind me! At that point, I was so excited I started laughing and almost jumped out of the car to run greet them. But I figured that a) traffic really was busy b) there were many flashing lights around and c) it is the crazy holiday season…no need to scare the couple whom I often thought of as my 2nd parents by making them think some psycho red-headed woman was about to accost them in the middle of Ashley Street! So tell them for me, thanks for letting me scoot into their lane…and Merry Christmas to All!

Isn’t that crazy?!?!

You know, this sort of thing is a little bothersome to me, though. Do I really haunt you guys like that? Now, my parents doing the haunting, hanging out in your rearview mirror, that’s different. They’re parents. I’m just a girl. Who happens to have the hips of some lady in her late thirties and wrinkles that will not give up the fight. Oh, and two kids. Yeah, and then there’s The Hubs.

I love it that Mary (no, that’s not her real name) shared this with me and I can’t wait to share it with Mama and Daddy. This will be the one and only time I will get to say to my mother what she has told my sisters and me for years:

It behooves you to behave. You never know who’s watching.

After receiving this email, I’m adding: Because it could be my mother or yours!

 

5 responses to “a reader and my parents. no joke.

  1. Marti Tolleson December 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I have to say that I, too, often think…what would Kate say??? You’ve made quite the impression on all of your readers young lady!

  2. Lisa Smart December 22, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Oh I agree… It’s kinda like the phrase “What would Jesus do?”… In those pressing etiquette situations, I too ask myself… “What would Kate do?”. I need a WWKD braclet!

  3. Nancy December 22, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I also often think “What would Kate say?” I don’t always read every post, but I do read it enough that it makes me stop and think……that means you’re doing a good job, right? Right. 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  4. Rea December 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Oh my goodness!! I’m a “civilized minute” celeb!! Like the others, I too find myself wondering “what kate would do” in situations. You’re helping us to slow down and think! And that’s quite a feat in this day and age!! Coming from a small town, I’ve learned that you truly never know who is watching you…so it’s best to mind your p’s and q’s all the time! You just never know who will appear in your rearview mirror!

  5. Kate December 23, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Rea! Yay! I’m so glad you saw this post! I was going to have to send up a flare if I didn’t hear from you.

    As much as all of you say you think about me in certain situations, I have a secret….I often think “I wonder what people would say if they saw an etiquette coach doing this”. What is “this”, you ask? I’ll NEVER tell!!!

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

