The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

a letter from the editor

See that dishtowel on the back of my chair? That's where it lives. It doesn't see a whole lot of action.

I enjoy reading letters from the editors of magazines. I like the glimpse into the thoughts and intentions of what I’m about to see. Call me nosey, but I like to know why something is like it is. It’s like getting Paul Harvey’s The Rest of the Story for each issue. As we jump into 2011, I want to give you a glimpse into The Civilized Minute and make sure you know…

I started blogging because all the marketing and branding gurus say it’s what you are supposed to do if you want to get your message out. Since that is precisely what I wanted to do – get my message out – I looked into it, decided it couldn’t hurt and got moving. Or, got writing. February, March, April, May, June, July… those were some sketchy months. I didn’t really like doing it, to tell you the truth. And, I was listening to the wrong people telling me what I should write about and how it should be written.  It was a chore and it did not come naturally. I wanted (and still want) people to be informed about how behaving nicely can benefit their entire state of being, but to lay it out in perfectly aligned bullet form exactly 3 times each week? Kill me now. Even don’t like to read about etiquette like that.

On August 10, I posted something on a whim. I called it Boulder Style and it was about my first attempt at riding my bicycle to run a couple of errands like my friend Britt who lives in Boulder. I wasn’t especially trying to be funny…it was just a funny experience that I thought somebody might get a kick out of.  I wrote it just like I saw it and in the words I would have used if you had been right there with me. It took about 5 minutes to compose (‘compose’ might be a little strong) and turned out to be hugely popular. I think that was the very first post to generate an official comment. So what if it came from my sister?

Through the Fall, I wrote only mildly interesting or helpful things and waded through a terrible dry spell. Then, on November 10, I posted Flowers From Afar that kick started my blogging mojo. I discovered that you guys, apparently, like an entertaining take on a mundane task or activity that ends with a little lesson on life, business, etiquette or all of the above.

Since August, I have watched The Civilized Minute readership grow and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you hanging around while I figure this blogging thing out.  During 2011, you are going to see TCM take a few steps up in the blog design world – you gotta admit, it’s kinda blahsville right now.

I hope you’ll stick around and tell me what you think. I love, love, love you guys talking back to me through comments, tweets, texts, Facebook remarks, emails, messages through my mother, shouts in the school pickup line. I read and replay every single one…usually more than once…especially on days when I feel fat, can’t find anything cute to wear or have to go to the dentist. It’s beyond my comprehension to hear about what you do with some of these posts…print it out and hang it up in your office break room, forward it to large groups of people (gulp), read it aloud at a dinner party (double gulp!). I’m just really glad you don’t mind a lesson on etiquette delivered in this unconventional way.

So, thank you so very much for reading. I hope you are looking forward to what 2011 brings – online and off.  I am. Let’s embark together. Shall we?

2 responses to “a letter from the editor

  1. Marti Tolleson January 5, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I do love the new format for your posts …they make me LAUGH out loud!! We all need to laugh and learn a bit too! Keep up the GREAT work!

  2. Semi-Slacker Mom January 7, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Great post. I know how much of a task blogging can be. And you know I prefer to take the funny route.

Leave a Reply

