The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

the pants problem

Yesterday was a kinda, sorta big day. I had a job interview! Talk about putting into practice what you preach…that was me. I did all the prep work to make sure I was well-groomed, well-versed and well-rested for the meeting and felt fairly pleased with myself until I pulled my pants from the hanger 10 minutes prior to departure. The button was missing. And there was a little pulling action in the tailgate area. I thought they were ready to go because they had come back from the cleaners a couple of weeks before Christmas – I had worn them with pride then. Clearly, a lot can happen a couple of weeks before (and after) Christmas.  One safety pin and a mid-thigh length coat later, I jiggled out the door and on to potential and possibility. Lesson: Even when your clothes come back from the cleaners, try them on your person before appointment time. And, if you find yourself in a pickle like this, don’t panic. Get creative, do what you can and forget it.

In the midst of the morning pants problem, I agreed to a 9:30pm Skype appointment with my friend, B, in Boulder. That’s 9:30 at night, in case you missed that. At 7:45, after a bowl of warm chicken and dumplings and after a warm bath, I discovered another lesson for the day: don’t make any decisions during a pants problem. After yesterday’s post, we are clear on my sleep requirements, right? So, I had some time to kill. Not that there isn’t plenty to do around the house, but after chicken and dumplings and a bath??

So, as I’m … I don’t know what I was doing … waiting … I smelled something scrumptious coming from the kitchen. I’m just really sorry if you have children that are into sports, art, drama, whatever…and don’t cook. This is what Emma had done to me…

Pecan Fingers. You're welcome.

Hello, pants problem.

I may have had a few. They were warm! It was the only thing to do.

My mother-in-law, who is a wonderful cook, made the batter for these lovelies, wrapped it in Saran Wrap and sent it to us. She said to keep it in the fridge, roll out a few at the time (or all of them), cook and enjoy. What a thoughtful thing to give someone! I had envisioned a quiet afternoon, a cup of hot tea in a pretty cup, 2 of these on a pretty plate. The reality was me in my pink flannel bathrobe, standing at the counter eating them like potato chips.

Why do we continue to do what we know contributes to the very problem we are trying to correct? I don’t know. It’s a mystery. May my lessons be your help and guide.  And, as you read these lessons, you can bet your tailgate I’m at the gym.

9 responses to “the pants problem

  1. Etiquette From the Trenches January 6, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I’m sure your interview went wonderfully! I’m having the same problem here and I’d love to borrow your daughter – pants problem or not, those look delicious!

    Amy

  2. Alice Wilson January 6, 2011 at 9:02 am

    Thanks for the tailgate reminder Kate. I think we all get into an easy routine that unfortunately leads to bad results. That routine is soooo comforting when we need it. Then all of a sudden we can’t button our pants. Believe me, I’ve been there more than once. LOL

    I’ve started my walking routine again and this is the month I cut back on the sweets!

    Maybe a picture of a tailgate on the fridge will help.

    Thanks for reminding me what I need to be doing!

    -Alice Wilson

    • Kate January 6, 2011 at 10:10 am

      Alice,
      I will put a picture of a tailgate on the fridge as long as it doesn’t have to be mine! But, you are so right…routine IS comforting. And then, Wham! We always have to keep our minds on task, huh?

      Thanks for reading!!
      Kate

  3. John Finnega January 6, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Great story and good lessons. Thais for sharing.

  4. Semi-Slacker Mom January 7, 2011 at 9:12 am

    If you go to pick Emma up from school one day & she’s not there, it’s because I have taken her home with me.

  5. Rea January 7, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    LOL!!! When I first saw the title of this post, I thought you were going to tackle the “pants below the waistline” fad…! But that would take an entire website of its’ own…and probably a congressional act! BTW, do you rent Emma out? WOW!

    • Kate January 8, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Rea,
      You are right…I don’t think I could do anything about the pants on the ground epidemic. My OWN pants, on the other hand…
      Kate

Leave a Reply

