The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

draggy friday

(these are not actors)

If this doesn’t just sum up the typical school morning at our house.

Push off time is 7:30. At 6:35, Em was saying ‘We are running behind!’. As I was dragging myself out of bed – yes, I know, we’ve covered that already this week – I was thinking ‘Girl. You hang around me for the day. I can show you running behind.’

Ben, on the other hand, doesn’t dislike school… he just dislikes school work. So, it didn’t exactly surprise me to round corner and find Emma dragging him out the door. Literally.

So, for us grownups with no spelling test on this Friday, here’s to the fact that we are older than them and don’t have to beat the tardy bell or eat lunchroom food.

Have a great weekend!!

ps…Which one of you ousted me about the dang 7th grader post??  Want to know the one thing she found offensive in the entire thing? The clutter on the kitchen counter that you could see in her picture. Again, my thought began with ‘Girl.’

4 responses to “draggy friday

  1. Etiquette From the Trenches January 7, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Love it!! That picture is a classic. (The painting behind them is also awesome, by the way!)

    Amy

  2. Kate January 7, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Amy,
    This is a ‘cherishing the baskets’ kind of picture – didn’t know it till I read your post!

    That painting was an anniversary gift from The Hubs a couple of years ago. It says Mother of the Year at the bottom. At first, I wasn’t sure if he was being sweet or snarky. I settled on sweet and hung it by the back door. 🙂

  3. Semi-Slacker Mom January 7, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Love it!

  4. Darrell January 9, 2011 at 8:52 am

    When is breakfast going to be ready!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

