The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

how to do flair

Busy day ahead…speaking to a Rotary Club at noon then scooting out of town to go see George Strait tonight. I’m sure he can’t wait to see me, either. He’ll be able to see me in section FF, right??

Not so much on days I actually train, but on days I’m to speak in front of a group, I tend to slide into neutral. I pull out my black suit and white shirt. I polish my black leather kitten heel shoes. I clean up my simple gold jewelry…nothing more than a chain and small earrings. But, this is actually contrary to what I actually prefer even though I was taught – and teach, to some degree – that in business, a neutral image is best. This morning, though, I have noticed how my colorful side seeps in.

Each person in my lunchtime audience will get one of these cards. One of these colorful cards. I actually deliberated on whether these color choices were the best. I decided they would catch their attention, so went with it.

 

Since my office is at home, I (apparently) need color there, too. These are paintings I bought from a man in a park in Mexico. I got the men and the women because it reminded me of me, my 2 sisters and our husbands. No, we aren’t in a band, but they look happy. Like we are.

This is Emma’s latest art project. She likes color, too…obviously. She has done a few paintings like this that are hanging here and there. All where I can see them.

So, here’s my point. I wouldn’t suggest outlandish colors and styles for office affairs. I wouldn’t suggest rhinestones and sparklies and earrings that are bigger than your head for a job interview. But, there is certainly nothing wrong with a little personality and flair to make yourself known and remembered.  Just insert it in the right places and at the right times. And, most of all, be confident in your appearance. If you’re even a little unsure about that blue streak in your hair your teenager talked you into, people will notice not only your punkish side, but your wimpish posture and shy demeanor.

Today is Friday. Just get through the day before you start on your Jamaica braids. That’s a much better weekend look anyway.

6 responses to “how to do flair

  1. Suzanne Nourse January 28, 2011 at 9:17 am

    I so agree with the neutral business look Kate. I would much rather have the audience listening to me, thinking “She has some great things to say” rather than “Wow, wonder where she got those bangles.”

  2. Marti Tolleson January 28, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Can I just say that I love Emma’s picture…WOW!!!

  3. Tara Poole January 28, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Simple, understated, sophisticated…I like it. And I LOVE Emma’s picture! She is sooo talented! Chef and artist…WOW!

Leave a Reply

