The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

When to tell it all

Well, now, dontcha just learn something new every day.

For as long as I have been using and writing the word y’all, I have been misspelling it. How ‘bout them apples? Had y’all noticed? Because I use that word often in my posts.

So, it’s y’all. Not ya’ll.

I just can’t believe it. After all these years and no one has corrected me. Does no one believe Southernisms deserve to be used correctly? Or, did you just not want to say anything? That’s it, isn’t it? You didn’t want to be the one to tell me.

I’m going to let you in on a little something….I WANT TO KNOW. Who doesn’t want to know when they are embarrassing themselves? ‘Course, I don’t want you to just blast me in front of all 13 people that read this blog. Don’t make me feel even worse. You could have sent me an email. That’s private. But, I actually don’t mind if you mark up your screen with a red pen then send me a text message.  Or phone. You could even call me on the phone.

Just know I’m here. For you. I’m here for you. I would be the first one to tell you if you are spelling y’all wrong. Or if you use your when it should be you’re. Or if you use their when it should be they’re.

These are the kinds of details that can make or break a cover letter, a resume, a thank you note, a speech or a blog post. Remember President Bush with nuclear and nuculear? So, tell it all, Brother! Just tell it discreetly when it’s to a friend and correctly when it’s out loud.

10 responses to “When to tell it all

  1. Darlene February 2, 2011 at 8:25 am

    I know I want to be corrected! WhenI first moved to the south, believe me, I got corrected many times. But I was corrected with extreme politeness. 🙂

  2. Marti Tolleson February 2, 2011 at 8:30 am

    you know you’ve been wanting to do some correcting right here…

  3. Jana A (@jana0926) February 2, 2011 at 9:02 am

    I can’t believe I didn’t notice! It’s my BIGGEST pet peeve! I totally would’ve told you. By Twitter DM, of course, not in public! Hope y’all have a fabulous day!

  4. Lisa Smart February 2, 2011 at 9:20 am

    I guess they didn’t teach the spelling of y’all at good ole BHS back in the day… but if you think about it, it does make sense to be spelled that way!

  5. deana February 2, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Thank you for this! It has come to my attention many, many times that in the small town where I live there are very few people who seem to even know that your, you’re, their, there and they’re are not to be used interchangeably! I’m not sure folks around here are ready for Y’all!

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention When to tell it all « The Civilized Minute -- Topsy.com

  7. nan turner February 3, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I agree 1000% !!! Not so long ago I so proudly wore a new very cute jacket to church. Got Lots of compliments on it and felt SO cute ….until I got home and went to hang it in my closet and saw the tag still hanging from the hem!

Leave a Reply

