The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

party’s over

I’ve been outed.

It seems the The Hubs now reads my blog. He has even subscribed. That means each time I click Publish in order to show you all what’s been trolling around inside my head or what’s making me giggle at the moment, a copy goes directly to his Inbox. To further seal the deal, each morning when I send out a new post, I can hear the sing-song tune his phone plays when he gets a new email. I’m pretty sure I hear his phone let out a groan when he clicks on the icon to read what’s waiting. There is always commentary, you see. And, he prefers to just let it all out over our coffee rather than leaving a comment like normal blog readers. Except for the day I posted Just For You. This post included a picture of George Strait from behind. He was wearing Wranglers. Underneath the picture, I wrote “You’re welcome.” You understand, of course.  On that morning, The Hubs was already at work. Within 5 minutes, I got an email. There was nothing in the subject line and it read “I don’t get your last blog.” Sigh. So, I wrote back, “Baby. It’s the view.” He’s not spoken of it since.

You know what this means, right? I’m going to have to watch what I write!

There’s one more thing. The kiddos are on to this whole blog thing, too.  They say things like, “Mom! Don’t blog about this!” Me? What blog? So, I can’t write about how Ben threw a dead minnow at my head. Even though I showed off the kind of agility usually seen in the 15-18 age bracket and was able to whirl around in a fluid like motion in order to dodge the flying dead fish AND land squarely in his path so that we could be eye to eye when I…ahem…spoke.  And I can’t write about the unsurpassed aggression I see from Emma when we play basketball in the driveway. She’s normally so docile! And, I’m quite sure children are not supposed to foul their own mamas like that.

What do they think I’m going to say on this blog, anyway? This is The Civilized Minute. Seriously, how bad could it get?

6 responses to “party’s over

  1. Jay Remer February 4, 2011 at 8:32 am

    I for one can relate to this, Kate. Life as you once knew it? Well, that’s all over now. Happy trails and watch the egg shells! On balance, you have a great life!

  2. Suzanne Nourse February 4, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Kate, take comfort that you’re not along. Like you, I’m watching the reactions of friends when I say “I feel a blog coming on”.
    Deep down I bet Emma and Ben are proud to have such a cool Mama.
    Happy writing!

  3. Andi W February 4, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I feel the same way about being “friends” with my husband and mother on Facebook! So many times I’ve wanted to complain or post something funny (like the pics of my ceiling after my husband put his foot through) but I’ve held back. I didn’t know I had such self control! Hah!

  4. Tara Poole February 4, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    If you can’t write about your family, who can you write about, right? As for the George Strait photo…I bet every woman reading your blog “got” it!

  5. Semi-Slacker Mom February 4, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Retro & I fuss about when I post something negative about them. The other two? They could care less.

  6. Marti Tolleson February 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    You know I got the George Strait photo!! Keep it coming Kate! Darrell can take it & I know the kids can too~

Leave a Reply

