The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

be sincere, not showy

And, here, I give you…….the power of the handwritten note.

Yes, it’s written on a piece of toilet paper. Yes, it has a grammatical error. There isn’t a comma to speak of. There is no form. But, there is no way this doesn’t make you smile. At least on the inside.

Don’t just think it. Tell somebody. Post-it note. Smoke signal. Pony Express. Don’t stress over making it just exactly right. It’s the sentiment, not the show.

 

8 responses to “be sincere, not showy

  1. Marti February 24, 2011 at 8:20 am

    That’s just the best!

  2. Jay Remer February 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

    It doesn’t get any easier than this! Personally, I find TP difficult to write on. And that’s probably a blessing! Thanks for the post, Kate.
    P.S. Are you a fan of Desperate Housewives?

    • Kate February 24, 2011 at 8:52 am

      So funny, Jay…
      I don’t usually watch it, but why? Do I need to?

    • Kate February 24, 2011 at 11:40 am

      Well, I’m their newest viewer so I can checkout Lynette! Without looking, I’m going to assume she is ravishingly beautiful with a killer shoe collection. Oh, I hope so!

      • Jay Remer February 24, 2011 at 12:29 pm

        Ravishingly similar to you in looks! I think it’s her demeanor rather than her shoes that makes me love her. Gabby has the shoes! I hope you enjoy the series. With your copious amounts of spare time, you can view previous seasons online once you get hooked.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention be sincere, not showy « The Civilized Minute -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

