The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

excuse me, ma'am. you have a shotgun shell on your wall.

Around the turn of the new year, I sat in on a Twitter chat hosted by the editor of The Daily Basics. She is so very bright and comes up with the greatest topics to mull over. On that day, she posed this question: What are your decorating goals for the year?

Admittedly, I wasn’t so turned on…at first. Decorating goals for the year? That’s my sister Nan’s department. She’s the decorating guru.  But, the more I thought about what I really want my house to be like has more to do with the feel than the look.

My response to the question at hand was this: This year, I want to decorate with things that are meaningful to my family…reminders of happy days, achievements, people we care about. Hopefully, people who come visit us will feel the love jumping off the walls (although I could see where one might confuse the love with the deer), relax and enjoy being in our home. But there is also this: when you surround yourself with objects that promote and inspire your very own goodness, you’ll have more goodness to share. This makes it good all the way around.

So, I just finished my first little decorating project – and I mean little. A few Saturdays ago, we visited my parents in South Georgia. It was a crisp and beautiful Saturday, so we decided to shoot skeet. Emma, Ben, Darrell, my Dad and I shot and laughed and teased each other and then we did it all again on Sunday. It was the most perfect day I’ve had in a long time (bruised shoulder and cheek aside). When we finished, I gathered up all the spent shotgun shells and brought them home. I dumped the shells in a shadow box, framed a few of my favorite pics from the day and voila!

 

 

Just for the record, those elk antlers do not hold a special place in my heart.

3 responses to “excuse me, ma'am. you have a shotgun shell on your wall.

  1. Loy March 3, 2011 at 7:23 am

    Oh Kate- you have hit on my weakness! I completely agree about surrounding yourself with a feeling more so than a look. I have a love of pictures (old and new) of family and it really is the first thing people tend to ask me about when they come over (yes, there are quite a few- it’s the older ones that are always intriguing to them.) In saying all of this, I wanted to share two books with you that go along with your post today:
    “Living With What you Love” by Monica Rich Kosann and
    “A Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of a Misspent Life” by Mary Randolfh Carter
    The first one I highjacked from my mom’s (which I often do since she has so many books I know she won’t miss it) and the second she gave me this past Christmas.
    Good books to sit and puruse over a cup of coffee.

    • Kate March 4, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Loy,
      I’ve heard of the second one! I’m going to need to track it down. Purusing a book over a cup of coffee…now that’s heaven! Thanks for reading!!

  2. Semi-Slacker Mom March 8, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Very redneck chic. Just kidding. I love it. What a smart idea to put the shells in a shallow box. It’s all about the memories.

Leave a Reply

