The Civilized Minute

a minute of manners and musings

clean up in produce

There are some things I do that are so engrained in my being that if I stopped to think about what I was doing, I’d probably mess it up. Like fixing my first cup of coffee in the mornings. Contrary to a sarcastic remark in a previous post about splashing a bit of whiskey in my morning joe, I actually take only creamer and honey. I can fix it just like I like it in about 6 seconds while I turn on the oven, kiss on 2 children and make funny morning greeting noises at the dog. I put on my watch in one fluid motion. I can brush my teeth and put on earrings at the same time. And, I can pull on a pair of hose in no time flat.

However.

There once was a 15 year old girl who was having dinner with her parents and 2 sisters. Out of town, thank the good Lord. It seems that this unassuming girl had an affinity for her very own hairdo and newly acquired blue eye shadow, so while she primped in the lady’s room at the restaurant, she failed to notice the hem of her very long and fashionable A-line skirt was caught in the waistband of her pantyhose. You might think she would have felt a breeze on her way back to the table. She did not. You also might think that her very own mother or at least one of her siblings might have mentioned something about this. They did not. Of course, it’s hard to talk about much of anything when you are laughing so hard that tears are rolling down your cheeks, making your mascara and nose run. Understandable.

Ironically, and as life often reminds us, history tends to repeat itself. Especially when we aren’t paying attention. That’s really all I’m going to say about the most recent event except to say that whomever reviews the security videos from the Publix produce section on last Thursday got more than a little glimpse.You’re welcome.   

So, unless you plan to pick up where I left off and head down Aisle 2 with your underwear showing, don’t assume you always know what you are doing. Be willing to learn, look for ways to practice what you think you already know and accept constructive criticism with the intention to improve. This shows you are open-minded and are able to consider the big picture. 

Or, you can just breeze down by paper goods and hope for the best.

4 responses to “clean up in produce

  1. Marti Tolleson March 3, 2011 at 8:48 am

    oh my goodness…another good laugh this am! This just happened to me…you must ask Deborah!!

  2. Andi W March 3, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    My goodness!! Maybe that’s why the produce guys are always so friendly – they never know when they may get a show! 😉 I’m surprised you got that far, though, it’s usually so cold in there! All I have to say is “There but by the grace of God go I!”

Leave a Reply

